jump to navigation

So is the iPhone any good? Great gadget, shocking phone…….. June 19, 2009

Posted by paulwalton72 in Personal.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Well since a corporate event held by Apple and O2 trying to get the corporate world to buy into the iPhone as a business device, I have had my iPhone since November. I have a very much love hate relationship with it.  At the moment I couldn’t give it back because I love the UI (user interface), all the apps and the sheer simplicity around the device.  I am never off the damm thing, which is a good thing right?

BUT….

It seems other suppliers are fighting back.  I am interested in new models of the Blackberry Tour for example.  My phone is due for renewal and I am tempted to move away from the iPhone.  After all I find myself only using a few apps which are available on other devices, which seem to have richer functionality but don’t have the simplistic UI that I love.  Version 3 of the iPhone has just been released and I love it.  All basic stuff that should have been part of the original offering?

It has to be said though that the iPhone as a phone is SHOCKING.  The phone for the transfer of data is SHOCKING.  I often get cut off or voicemails just arrive days after it was left etc.  Also I use my Blackberry 8800 for my works email.  I set up my iPhone for my works email also to compare the 2.  Both on the O2 network.

The BB wins hands down for the transfer of data.  Standing opposite platform 5 and 6 of Waterloo Station waiting on my train, I get my 2 devices out to compare.  My BB is transferring my emails with no issues.  My iPhone does nothing!  Now if I were solely reliant on the iPhone I would have alot of dead time!  Not good.  I did feedback to O2, got some info back but overall I get this with the iPhone all the time!

Should I move away?  Hmmm just not decided yet…….

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

